OWNED BY A GREYHOUND PAOGORMAN2001's Avatar

Sacd Player Worth It?

I've been toying with the idea of getting a universal player like a NAD T585 or one of the Oppo models. Right now I'm using a NAD C521BEE cd player hooked into a NAD C162 preamp and C272 power amp for ]two channel music only.Is the sound of Sacd's good enough justify the change and does anyone have any experience with either brand listed? do I need a DAC . Sorry but I'm new to this Sacd thing
    Thanks in advance
    Pogo
    NAD M3 INTEGRATED

REGA APOLLO CDP

B&W 805S SPEAKERS

BOSTON ACOUSTICS PV700 200 WATT POWERERD SUB

There is some disagreement

Quote Originally Posted by PAOGORMAN2001
    I've been toying with the idea of getting a universal player like a NAD T585 or one of the Oppo models. Right now I'm using a NAD C521BEE cd player hooked into a NAD C162 preamp and C272 power amp for ]two channel music only.Is the sound of Sacd's good enough justify the change and does anyone have any experience with either brand listed? do I need a DAC . Sorry but I'm new to this Sacd thing
    Thanks in advance
    Pogo
    For myself, I would say 'no', SACD isn't worth it for 2-ch audio. Multi-channel is another matter though: M/C can bring a level of realism that stereo simply cannot.

I own an Oppo DV-980H but it's in my HT system, not my main music system. Since my main system is 2-ch, I occassionally listen to M/C SACDs on the Oppo. There it works well in the HT both for DVDs and for SACDs.

Ajani
    In addition to Feanor's points, you may also want to consider whether enough music that you like is available on SACD... If you're not a classical fan, then you maybe very dissapointed with the album options....

Aging Smartass