Thread: NOOB Question

NOOB Question

I'm a noob when it comes to digital music. I thought that .wma files were encoded in digital 5.1 surround sound. Well, I spent .99 and downloaded a .wma file and then burned it to a cd. I then played it back on my HT system and its PCM with analog dolby prologic II decoding (not what i wanted unfortunately). Now .ac3 files play fine in dolby digital. Am i missing something here or is .wma not encoded as dolby digital? If .wma is not encoded in dolby digital then is there a site where I can purchase .ac3 music? Thanks in advance.

Nope. .wma is Windows Media Audio..in other words, a computer sound file.

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by poneal
    I'm a noob when it comes to digital music. I thought that .wma files were encoded in digital 5.1 surround sound. Well, I spent .99 and downloaded a .wma file and then burned it to a cd. I then played it back on my HT system and its PCM with analog dolby prologic II decoding (not what i wanted unfortunately). Now .ac3 files play fine in dolby digital. Am i missing something here or is .wma not encoded as dolby digital? If .wma is not encoded in dolby digital then is there a site where I can purchase .ac3 music? Thanks in advance.
    wma is just an analog audio track on a computer?
    Dolby pro logic II will play it.
    mtrycrafts

Many Thanks...

Glad I didn't spend more than a buck on that .wma file. So another question. Does DVD-A discs have a 5.1 digital surround track on them also? I don't have a DVD-A player just a regular DVD player but I have heard songs played at the end of movies that sound really good on my 5.1 system (much, much better than pro logic). In particular, the soundtrack from the Gothika movie (remix of the Who song) sounded awesome. So now I feel the need for more of this and was wondering if DVD-A disc contain the dolby digital 5.1 sound track. Thanks, Paul.