Forum Regular

newb question on CD player transports

Hi. I'm new to hi-fi and have just put together an inexpensive system. Amazed at how much sound I'd been missing! However I am surprised by the greater difficulty that my CD player has in reading CDs than any micro or portable system I have used. With those systems I only had a few discs which would skip a little, but now only about half my discs play absolutely perfectly, and about a fifth hardly play at all.
    This was the case with my current budget CD player and a used one I tried out. Only $100, very cheap, but still twice as expensive as portables which have no such problems, and work under more difficult conditions.
    Do portables have superior transports?
    Perhaps this problem goes away at the $200 mark?

Thanks for any info

portables

Quote Originally Posted by CSMR
    Hi. I'm new to hi-fi and have just put together an inexpensive system. Amazed at how much sound I'd been missing! However I am surprised by the greater difficulty that my CD player has in reading CDs than any micro or portable system I have used. With those systems I only had a few discs which would skip a little, but now only about half my discs play absolutely perfectly, and about a fifth hardly play at all.
    This was the case with my current budget CD player and a used one I tried out. Only $100, very cheap, but still twice as expensive as portables which have no such problems, and work under more difficult conditions.

Thanks for any info
    Portables have inferior everything. They have no chassis or suspension. Better cd players do track better. There are some exceptions. Try your mistracking cd's on other players and find out what works. Make sure the cd's are clean though.

FWIW: Many mega-buck KRELL cd-p's won't track anything except perfect cd's. You'd think for many thousands per player they'd get it right...buuut nooo.

DMK
    Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by CSMR

Thanks for any info