Forum Regular

Question Looking for advice on music-creating software

Hi everyone,
    I'm about to get into the world of PC-created music and I'm hoping for a bit of guidance. Here's what I'm looking for:
    I have a bit of an odd set of skills concerning music. That is - I'm a musician, but I know next to nothing about creating it digitally. Basically I know a fair amount about music and not much at all about computer programs. To confound things even further, I'm a drummer - rythm comes naturally to me, but melody is a bit forced. So I'd like something relatively "for dummies" when it comes to the computer application, but I don't need it to tell me things like "This is called a quarter note, here's what it does". I have no idea of the range of music creation programs out there, so I don't even know if this rather unusual combo exists. Any help is much appreciated.
    Mike

Talking Oh Boy - Pandora's Box, here we come!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mike That Likes Music
    Hi everyone,
    I'm about to get into the world of PC-created music and I'm hoping for a bit of guidance. Here's what I'm looking for:
    I have a bit of an odd set of skills concerning music. That is - I'm a musician, but I know next to nothing about creating it digitally. Basically I know a fair amount about music and not much at all about computer programs. To confound things even further, I'm a drummer - rythm comes naturally to me, but melody is a bit forced. So I'd like something relatively "for dummies" when it comes to the computer application, but I don't need it to tell me things like "This is called a quarter note, here's what it does". I have no idea of the range of music creation programs out there, so I don't even know if this rather unusual combo exists. Any help is much appreciated.
    Mike

So when you say create music, are you just looking to score music, create music to play through a synthesizer, or some combination thereof?