Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

You're not alone

Quote Originally Posted by blackraven
    I agree with both Anjani and Mr. P. As far as power cords go. My MusicHall CDP can with its original power cord and an upgraded AQ power cord which was supposed to make a significant difference in sound. There's not one bit of difference that my family or my friends can hear. Thats my only experience with power cords. Of course I'm one of those non believers that $1k IC's and speaker cables can make a dramatic difference in sound.

Being a doctor, I see the power of placebo every day. I guess I'm cynical and a skeptic
    I have used (and still do) a number of low-end and DIY shielded power cords in both my stereo and HT systems; I have never heard the slightest difference from their use. Maybe I'm just luck to have a EMI/RFI insensitive environment; I do use EMI/RFI filtering surge surpressors on most equipment including all digital stuff.

What should I do to hear the wonderful improvement that so many hear? I suppose I ought to try the normal audiophile solution: spend a lot more money

Although I've thought I've heard minute differences between interconnects and speaker cables, but -- and I'll be the first to admit -- it might have been my imagination. My current self-delusion is that tubes sound different, e.g. a "huge improvement" (in the audiophile sense) rolling Sovtek 6922 for Amperex 6922 'PQ's in my preamp.
    Last edited by Feanor; 03-17-2008 at 02:50 AM.

I use EMI/RFI filters on all my wiring as well, plus the area I live in is relatively new with new power stations and I only live about 10 miles from the power company.

I wish one of the audio magazines had the balls to do a large double blind study on cheap vs expensive IC's, speaker cable, power cords and amplifiers. It would be so easy to do, but I guess they would loose their sponsors if it showed that the whole cable thing is all placebo. It would be nice to settle this once and for all.