MPI
    Forum Regular

Bi wire subwoofer to main speakers

First I would like to say "HELLO" to the community as I am new to this chat site. So I have a Vintage Pioneer SX-1050 with no Sub out line wanting to hook up a BIC F12 Subwoofer. My main speakers which will are Klipsch F20's and I want to Bi wire these main speakers. Is it ok to just run 1 set of speaker wire from the back of the Pioneer to the High Level Inputs on the BIC and then run 2 sets of speaker wire from the Line out Output terminals of the BIC Subwoofer to the 4 speaker terminals of the Klipsch F20's. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by MPI View Post
    First I would like to say "HELLO" to the community as I am new to this chat site. So I have a Vintage Pioneer SX-1050 with no Sub out line wanting to hook up a BIC F12 Subwoofer. My main speakers which will are Klipsch F20's and I want to Bi wire these main speakers. Is it ok to just run 1 set of speaker wire from the back of the Pioneer to the High Level Inputs on the BIC and then run 2 sets of speaker wire from the Line out Output terminals of the BIC Subwoofer to the 4 speaker terminals of the Klipsch F20's. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
    Welcome to AR Forums, MPI.

Does the BIC subwoofer have high-level, (speaker), outputs as well as high-level inputs? If so, I'd definitely connect the Klipsch to those BIC outputs, (bi-wired if you like), rather than to the Pioneer. This would be the safer arrangement: the Klipsch and BIC if both wired directly to the Pioneer could result in too low an impedance load on that unit which might result in damage to the Pioneer.

MPI
    Forum Regular