Thread: Speaker wire

Forum Regular

Speaker wire

I have to ask this.Im new to this and would like to know if higher end speaker wire is really going to make all that much difference in sound?Also should i use banana clips?I have Infinity sm 155,s for 2 channel and a set of PSB alpha series surround speakers for movies

Forum Regular
    Oh and im running everything with a pioneer vsx-d906s reciever

Vinyl Fundamentalist Forums Moderator poppachubby's Avatar
    You have asked a question in a VERY subjective area of audio. Generally speaking, yes, it does make a difference.

For your Infinity's, I would recommend no higher than 14 AWG cable, preferrably 12 or 10. The bass response will be fuller at these thicker guages vs. thinner.

Bare wire is actually where its at, but if your speakers have banana plugs, then terminating with appropriate jacks is fine. Try to get some that are gold plated.

The bottom line is you shouldn't expect any great, audible result from the cable. With proper quality cable at a respectable gauge, you will get reliable transmission of the signal. Let your ears decide if there is improvement.

Suspended
    No plugs are necessary. I've found better wire/cables can help. To answer your question you'll have to try some better ones to see if, you, can hear any difference. Some heavy gauge oxygen free copper speaker wire is probably all you will need for your current system.

You might at some point try www.bluejeanscable.com this cable is good enough to show difference at a good price.

Feel the Tempo eisforelectronic's Avatar
    I personally feel your wiring has the potential to make almost as much difference as your components.
    Audio Physic Avanti IV w/upgraded mids and crossover
    Emotiva UMC-1
    Emotiva XPA-3
    Peachtree Audio iNova
    Rega Brio-R
    Rega RP-1
    Sony PS3
    BAT VK-D5se
    Totem Acoustic Dreamcatchers

Sophisticated Red Neck manlystanley's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by amature