Power cord questions

Printable View

• 11-04-2005, 01:53 PM
    blairphillips7@yahoo.com
    Power cord questions
    I am wondering if anyone can tell me if upgrading your powercord really makes any difference in sound quality. I am using a stock powercord with my equipment now and am wondering if I should purchase an Audioquest cord because I just bought Audioquest cables and interconnects. These made an unbelievable improvement in the soundstage and I was blown away. Could a powercord really help? I am also wondering about the actual outlet. I saw that PS Audio makes a replacement recepticle. Would this help my sound quality and how? Thanks
  • 11-04-2005, 11:38 PM
    StateDJ85
    I'm no expert but I'll take a shot in the dark here. I think that under certain circumstances, there is definately a difference, but in some ways, if you're not using a power conditioner, then what's the point of a high-priced cable. Also, I think the outlet can in some ways have a negative effect if it's worn down and you might be getting a less than ideal connection, but a new outlet could also solve that for under a dollar. Even beyond the outlet and the power cord, keep in mind that there's probably 100 feet of cheap wire bringing the power from the circut box to the outlet, along with hundreds of more feet on the other side of the circuit box. I personally have a hard time believing that that last 3 feet of the run would make a very obvious difference (unless of course your current cord has really been limiting the connection quality). Im sure it also depends on the quality of your system as a whole, and the higher quality it is, the more likely you probably are to hear a difference. I had a similar dilemma, and ended up just putting in a new outlet and buying economically priced decent cables. I personally haven't heard much of a difference, I just like thinking that I've got good solid connections. I also started using a power conditioner recently, and that DID make a big diff