AR Regular

Newbie Bi-wiring question

I have read all the biwiring posts below and don't want to buy into all the pro and anti views because I have no experience, but I would like to get some advice.

In Nov 04 I bought B&W speakers and Musical Fidelity amp which both allow for bi-wiring. At the moment I only have one set of cables to the speakers - the thickest that the speaker posts on the equipment can accomodate. Now that I've had them for a couple of months, I'd like to experiment with bi-wiring.

Now, could someone advise me if its OK to use different thickness wires for the two runs, or do they have to be the same? I have spare cables but they are about half the thickness of the cables already attached.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by StanleyMuso; 02-08-2005 at 08:19 PM. Reason: spelling error

Forum Regular

Yes and No

The answer to this question depends entirely on where you fall in the biwiring debate. Personally, as a Licensed Professional Engineer I think most people are wasting their time and money unless they are using an outboard crossover and separate amps - then biwiring can make a difference. However, most people just run 2 sets of cables from the common amp terminals to the 4 posts on the speaker, which doesn't do a whole lot except increase the cable companies' profits.

If you buy into the pro-biwiring theory, then you'll probably want identical cables of equal length. If you're more practical, then the answer is use the cables you have to see what happens. If you're truly interested in figuring out if it makes a difference, have someone else hook them up (or not hook them up) several times and do some listening. Not a perfect DBT but better than nothing. If you consistently can identify (and like) the biwired condition, then you can start looking at getting matching cables.

Jeff

AR Regular

Thanks DrJeff