• 04-07-2006, 05:19 PM
    natlus
    Does Bi-Wiring and a subwoofer mix?
    I must preface my question with that I am a relative newbie when it comes to subwoofers and cables, so my question may be obvious to some. I've read the threads here about the controversies over biwiring, but......

Am I forced to go to a single wire set up with an Audiosource PSW-100 subwoofer (posts for only a pair of non-biwired speakers) and a pair of Wharfedale Saphires with biwire posts? I've been so happy wth my biwired Wharfedales, run by a NAD 7240 receiver. Must I give this up, save for buying a different subwoofer? Or is there some speaker wire contraption that can save me?

It seems that biwire bridges are sold to convert speakers to single wire set ups, so if that's my only option, I'm open to any suggestions for resources financially reasonable but audiophile(PartsExpress?).

Thanks in advance.
  • 04-07-2006, 05:48 PM
    musicman1999
    not familiar with the nad,but does it have a sub out or set of pre outs on the back.If so run the sub off it.

bill
  • 04-07-2006, 06:24 PM
    natlus
    No sub out....
    Thanks for the reply.

No, my NAD is an oldie with no subwoofer line; I will in the future run this sub off of an even older Marantz Quad receiver, so it seems I'm stuck with running the sub directly to the speakers and to the amplifier source. I've read that for music listening, as opposed to 'home theatre' listening, this is a prefered mode anyhow because of something to do with the synchronization between the speakers and sub. Is this true?

Natlus
  • 04-08-2006, 07:45 PM
    musicman1999
    not familiar with the term.But if you have no pre-outs it would seem your stuck with out bi-wire.You can have one or the other.You must decide which is more important to you,sub or bi-wire.

bill
  • 04-09-2006, 08:15 AM
    natlus
    Sub it is
    Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman1999