Thread: coax vs. fiber

Forum Regular

coax vs. fiber

Well even though i am fairly new to all of this i have a question on what seems to be a much debated topic of coax digital and fiber optic audio. just looking for your opinions and maybe reasons why. Just looking to further my knowledge of ever expanding (but currently small) knowledge of ht. Thanks so much!

Forum Regular

New too

I have looked over the pros and cons of both coax and fiber. Nothing I ever read or heard proved anything one way or the other.
    I decided to go the toslink route. I know I could have done it cheaper with coax, but I was only running about 2 feet and the difference wasn't that big of deal. If I had to make a longer run to my equipment than I would have went with coax.
    When I bought my new receiver the salesman recommended toslink and gave me a good deal.
    Oh yeah, the other reason is that my dvd player has optical only.
    Last edited by Evan; 02-11-2004 at 03:16 PM.

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by cashlz
    Well even though i am fairly new to all of this i have a question on what seems to be a much debated topic of coax digital and fiber optic audio. just looking for your opinions and maybe reasons why. Just looking to further my knowledge of ever expanding (but currently small) knowledge of ht. Thanks so much!

They both send digital signals. Nothing too complicated about that especially for short runs.
    mtrycrafts