Thread: My speakers

Forum Regular

My speakers

This is my first attempt at full range speaker. They took me about a month and a half to complete. I wanted to build a fully capable speaker within a modest price range. I also wanted to do things a little different(driver configuration). I decided to use the Dayton Classic line from Parts Express due to their excellent reputation. I went with a pair of 8 Ohm 8" woofers for the bass and the 8 Ohm 6 1/2" for the mids. The tweeters are the Dayton 1 1/8" shielded type. I also went with the Dayton pre-fab 3-way (375/300-Hz) crossovers. The cabinets are 3/4" MDF covered in Parts Express black ash vinyl laminate. The ports are PSP flared ports tuned to 29Hz.

The dimensions of these beasts are 40"x11"x18", yielding approximately 3.5 cubic feet. They stand about 41 1/2" tall on the black chrome spiked feet and weigh 65lbs each. Impedence measuered up at 3.9 Ohms.

They sound great to me, though they are probably a bit fat in the upper bass(150-200 Hz range). The bass is effortless and fills the room without any significant dead spots. They now reside where my BOSE 701s use to be.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My speakers-dsc00101.jpg  

Gee! They look great

Mustage,

These look great! I'm interested in building in full-range system myself, (my first too); see my recent thread ... Hi-Vi Research DIY project: any advice?

I would be very interested to know what software tools you used for the design, and also what measurment equipment you use. Currently I have no measurement capability but I think I'll wnat to remedy that situation soon.

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by Feanor
    Mustage,

These look great! I'm interested in building in full-range system myself, (my first too); see my recent thread ... Hi-Vi Research DIY project: any advice?