What's wrong with keeping a center cannel speaker vertically? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with keeping a center cannel speaker vertically?

sip
02-19-2005, 07:10 PM
I bought a Athena ASC-1 today but it is too big for my TV wall unit. I.e. I cannot keep it horizontally, either on a shelf or on top of the TV. At present, I have placed it vertically, beside the TV. So basically, my choice is to keep the Athena ASC-1 vertically, beside the TV or buy the smaller Athena C.5 center cannel speaker that comes with the Athena Point 5 speaker system. What shall I do? What's wrong with keeping a center cannel speaker vertically?

sip
02-19-2005, 07:13 PM
I ment to say centre Channel.

natronforever
02-19-2005, 07:18 PM
Personally, and I'm no expert, but I wouldn't worry so much about where you have placed your center channel. I doubt it matters tremendously how it is placed, whether horizontal or vertical. Nonetheless, I would make sure you place your main and surround speakers equidistant from the center channel, not from the center of the TV. I bet your only problem would be visual aesthetics, not acoustic quality. However, I'm sure there are many others, more knowledgeable than myself, who will provide further insight.

sip
02-19-2005, 07:29 PM
Due to space limitations, I cannot keep the Athena ASC1 Center Channel speaker at an equal distance from the front speakers. To keep it at an equal distance from the front speakers, I have to place it on top of the TV, which I cannot do. So, when I keep it vertically, it is lot closer to left speaker than the right. BTW, I do not have rear speakers.

topspeed
02-20-2005, 12:16 AM