Detectable Differences In Monster? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Detectable Differences In Monster?

Defshep
02-17-2005, 10:25 AM
I'm still fairly new to home theater. Well, I've had a system (low end Pioneer & Sony components) for a couple of years. Question about Monster & Acoustic Research cables & speaker wire. I know there are better grades than others. Heck, even Radio Shack & RCA make expensive cables. But I recently read that most of the difference in quality is undetectable by the human ear. Is this just a matter of opinion?

musicoverall
02-17-2005, 11:48 AM
I'm still fairly new to home theater. Well, I've had a system (low end Pioneer & Sony components) for a couple of years. Question about Monster & Acoustic Research cables & speaker wire. I know there are better grades than others. Heck, even Radio Shack & RCA make expensive cables. But I recently read that most of the difference in quality is undetectable by the human ear. Is this just a matter of opinion?

Yes, it's a matter of opinion. There is no proof that zip cord (the lowest quality in terms of sonics) sounds identical to higher definition cable in all systems and to all people, just as there is no proof of any sonic differences. Scientists accept the lack of proof for differences as reason enough to be sure of that POV and audiophiles accept what their senses tell them when they perceive differences. It seems to be a never ending debate.

markw
02-17-2005, 12:31 PM
And, by that same token, nobody has ever been able to tell whether they are listening to a $5.00 cable or a $500.00 cable witout knowing what they were listening to.

Of course, when they can see the cables they are listening to, the differences are apparant. riiiiiiiiiight.

You would think someone would be able to accurately justify these price disparities without looking by now, wouldn't ya?

musicoverall
02-17-2005, 01:11 PM