New to Home Theater, Need some advice on buying a Sub [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : New to Home Theater, Need some advice on buying a Sub

potcha
12-20-2003, 10:02 AM
I am just getting into putting my Home Theater System together and was wondering if I could get some advice on some in-expensive Subs. I have heard that the SVS subs are awsome but is there a less expensive starter sub out there? Also do you need to buy the 700W amp for the SVS stuff to sound good or could I just buy the sub?

TinHere
12-20-2003, 10:35 AM
I am just getting into putting my Home Theater System together and was wondering if I could get some advice on some in-expensive Subs. I have heard that the SVS subs are awsome but is there a less expensive starter sub out there? Also do you need to buy the 700W amp for the SVS stuff to sound good or could I just buy the sub?
Budget?
How large is your room?
Percentage HT/music?

Any sub from SVS will sound good as long as it isn't underpowered/sized for the area. SVS sells passive cylinders if you have an amp you can use. They have very good customer service and don't try to "oversell" your needs.

The HSU VTF-2 or Rocket UFW-10 are subs that will also deliver a lot for the money.

For less money there is Adaire or check out the DIY available at partsexpress.com.

Happy hunting.

Edit: I just saw the HSU STF-2 on sale for $399.

F1
12-20-2003, 05:26 PM
Edit: I just saw the HSU STF-2 on sale for $399.

'Basically' Hsu STF-2 is a Hsu VTF-2 that is fixed at maximum freq extension. This is the setting that most people use on their VTF-2. I have VTF-2 and very happy with its performance for both music and movie.

potcha
12-20-2003, 05:27 PM
is there anything worth buying that is 200 or less?

This Guy
12-21-2003, 08:06 AM