Listened to some B&W's today [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Listened to some B&W's today

Kaiser Sosze
02-05-2005, 08:38 PM
Well on the the advice given here, every individual must listen to know what 's good for them when it comes to speaker selection, and I now realize why.
I took a trip to a high-end Audio store in manhattan (innovative audio Video) , My first expirience from something other than a bestbuy type place. Well they sure took their time with me making me feel comfortable, even though I was in the market for budget speakers. I went their to audition B&W's DM600's , $450 pair bookshelf, had good reviews from what I found and thought it was a attractive speaker. they sat me down in one of their 6 studios to listen. I thought it sounded good, but was not as impressed as I thought I would be.I'm new to this so I can't give you an audiophile type review.
So the salesman setup a better model for me to listen to, the CM series. The CM2, $900 pair, Was told $810 before I left, and even more attractive. Well what a difference, that is the impression I was expecting from quality speakers,from my one of a kind white van platinum studio elite series. To me, The instruments from the record were more sharp and easier to individualize and separate. the 600's had more of a blended sound. I don't know the terms yet to use , but I heard each note easiers and more distinctly
Anyway, I see what how things get better as you go up the ladder. I thought they sounded great and think is the type of sound I'm looking to upgrade to. I can only imagine what the serious stuff sounds like.

risabet
02-05-2005, 08:57 PM
Well on the the advice given here, every individual must listen to know what 's good for them when it comes to speaker selection, and I now realize why.