Newcomer in search of advice! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newcomer in search of advice!

Shwamdoo
01-30-2005, 05:57 PM
Hello,

I am fairly new to the world of home audio but I am entirely enthusiastic. For the past few months I have been touring home audio forums and the local audio retailers listening and gathering whatever knowledge I can. Other than the fact that I am a high-school student with an extremely limited budget, my only problem is that I have a limited knowledge of how to approach home audio. I was wondering if anyone could recommend some resources that will help me to learn about both the mechanics of how a stereo works and what to value when listening to a stereo. I imagine that there are several sources of this type I just don't know which ones are credible.

Also, any advice on well respected brands with affordable products would be greatly appreciated.

wsdavies
01-30-2005, 06:05 PM
I'm by no means any sort of an expert, so take my advice as you will. I'd say keep doing what you are doing. The more you seek the more you will find. Good sound is what you prefer. It's great to read reviews and get good ideas of message boards, but nothing beats hearing it for your self...

RGA
01-30-2005, 07:17 PM
I would not do what I did which was rely on stereop magazines and internet forums - which makes this advie paradoxical admittedly.

There are several key things to think about.

- what kind of music do you like to listen to now and what might you like later (Ie; I like rap today but I might dig Beethoven tomorrow and not all speakers are good at doing both and many are good at neither and a few good at both)

- do I want surround sound home theater or 2 channel music - some spekaers and equipment are better at one or the other - and if I want both I ma spend more than a new Honda Civic