Speaker recomendations for a Newbie? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Speaker recomendations for a Newbie?

MarkM13
01-28-2005, 02:40 PM
Greetings,

I currently have a HT system that would have most people on this bb bust a gut laughing.
I am looking to start up grading and would like to begin with the speakers. I currently have some old Sonys for my front and center (Small HT in a Box style) and some Bi-Polar cheap Sonys as my rears. The best part of the system is a 200 watt Energy 12" front firing sub. It's sort of on loan and will have to be replaced at some point. My receiver is a Sony Pro-logic II that's about 5 years old and lacks co-ax or digital audio. I'm currently using the 5.1 analog audio jacks coming from my DVD player to the same set of inputs on the receiver. As primitive as this set up is it sounds somewhat passable, but lacks some serious mids.

Being a musician, my HT system is often used for viewing live concert DVDs (I don't use it to listen to CDs). I'm looking for a speaker system that will sound great for movie viewing, but will also sound killer for concert vids such as "Rush in Rio", Pat Metheny's 'Imaginary Day" or Step Ahead in Japan (the last two are jazz groups).