Another THUMBS UP Review: John Carpenter's Escape From New York: Collector's Edition [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Another THUMBS UP Review: John Carpenter's Escape From New York: Collector's Edition

John Beresford
12-18-2003, 02:15 PM
I am a die hard John Carpenter fan. I have almost all of his films in my DVD collection, as I try and replace my VHS collection: Halloween, Vamipres, Escape From LA, Christine, The Fog, The Thing....I was waiting for this new rumored Escape From New York remastered DVD because MGM messed the first one up so bad, it was a travesty....TERRIBLE looking transfer with terrible 2.0 audio, to boot.

On Tuesday, the Collector's Edition of this landmark cult-followed film came out, and wow, people....if you are fans of this film, as I was, this is the DVD to own this year----THE MOST BEAUTIFUL LOOKING TWO DISC BOX SET ON THE MARKET RIGHT NOW. The letters for "Escape From New York" and Kurt Russell's picture on the cover are raised in relief and look GREAT; another box pulls out from the outer box, where the two DVDs are hidden with all kinds of graphics and lines from John Carpenter inside. VERY VERY impressive. I thought Pirates of the Caribbean was going to take honors for the most beautiful DVD packaging this year, but Escape From New York is gorgeous---really. There's even a comic book about Kurt Russell's character, called the Snake Plissken Chronicles, inside.