wavelength of sub-30 Hz sounds [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : wavelength of sub-30 Hz sounds

lazyhaze
01-13-2005, 11:25 PM
I am in the process of auditioning a new sub for my room to get as low bass as possible. i measured the frequency response of my 8" mains using a SPL meter and a tone generator, and they have a flat response until 40 Hz and a rapid dropoff after that. i want any new sub i buy to be able to go significantly below that, at least a little below 30 Hz. i am a physics student, and we are learning about wave theory in class...i realized that the wavelength for a 30 Hz sound is over 38 feet long, and my room is only 12'x13'. does this mean that i am losing large parts of sounds at this frequency? is it possible to have extremely low bass in a small room?

bargainseeker
01-14-2005, 05:13 AM