Ar Diy Speaker Adjustments [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Ar Diy Speaker Adjustments

knac67
01-01-2005, 06:24 PM
I am new to DIY speaker building. I have just built the ar.com speakers.They have the current modifications from madisound. I am looking for a little brighter high end.Could somebody recomend the correct mod for the crossovers to acheive this?
Thank you for the replys,
chris

jbandpc
01-01-2005, 07:31 PM
Did you add the optional resistor on the tweeter? If so, take it off. I can't imagine wanting more high end than this speaker without that resitor.

Philip

knac67
01-01-2005, 11:24 PM
I just installed the pre-built crossover, it might have been installed. I will check tomorrow..

Thank you for the tip.
Chris

jbandpc
01-02-2005, 07:19 AM
I'm pretty sure that pre-built one doesn't have it. I guess the word "bright" has different meaning to different people - or there's something wrong with your tweeters. That's improbably though since you've built more than one speaker and they presumably sound the same.

What speakers have you heard that do sound bright?

knac67
01-04-2005, 04:30 PM
Thank you for the replys everybody. I am busy doing a re-model and have not had a chance to take apart the speakers yet. I used the word bright which may have not been the correct term i was looking to use. I would like the speakers to be slightly more forward or crisp in the high end. I am comparing these speakers to a pair of ascend cmt 340's
which have a very detailed high end. I am looking for something that has a sound in the middle Of the ar.coms and the ascends.
I am juist on about hour ten on breaking them in I don't know if I should wait longer before adjustments. I have noticed a huge imprvement in the bass since the break-in so far. If anyone has experience with extened ownership--please let me know..
Thanks Again!!

One last note..Thank you Ed Frias for the design of these speakers-I like them more each day!

EFE Speakers