phono without phono inputs? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : phono without phono inputs?

drevil
12-22-2004, 04:18 PM
I’m a newbie entering the world of home theater & a/v set up. I’m on a budget (trying to stay around that $500 figure, or so…) and am going to build piece by piece. Most receivers I’m interested in have one problem – a lack of a phone input. (This seems to come only on higher end models.) Is there a way to safely and properly hook up a record play to a receiver if it doesn’t have a specific input? What kind of pre-amp unit would I need? Are there grounding issues? I welcome any advice…I may be off in the wrong direction and maybe I should invest more in a receiver?

Welcome any thoughts…

E-Stat
12-22-2004, 06:26 PM
Is there a way to safely and properly hook up a record play to a receiver if it doesn’t have a specific input? What kind of pre-amp unit would I need? Are there grounding issues? I welcome any advice…I may be off in the wrong direction and maybe I should invest more in a receiver?
No need to buy a more expensive receiver. Instead, you can buy an outboard phono preamp and run it through one of the other high level inputs. For conventional magnetic cartridges, they can be found for as little as $25 from Radio Shack. Sometimes, it is helpful to ground the turntable to your receiver. I don't find it necessary with my rig.

rw

Worf101
12-23-2004, 07:01 AM
Go to Rat Shack or somewhere and get a cheap phono pre-amp and run it through an auxillary input. Most low to mid level HT hookups no long have phono-in's. Kinda a sign of that times. Next on the endangered species list, Cassette Deck inputs and outputs.

Da Worfster :cool:

drevil
12-23-2004, 07:40 AM
Thanks...thought I could do the pre-amp thing, but an "expert" at a store said I should be concerned about no grounding wire. Is he just being overly cautious? Can I just make sure it is grounded someplace else?

Thanks.

E-Stat
12-23-2004, 12:47 PM