Best material? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Best material?

nice_tie36
12-14-2004, 04:36 PM
I'm going to give it a shot at building my own speakers. I've never done it before, but you'll never learn anything new if you don't try it out. I've ordered a book, I forgot the name so I'll put it up here when I figure it out. But what is the a good material to use to build the speakers and subwoofer enclosers out of. I didn't plan on building my own speakers but with my entertanemint center built in to the wall I kind don't have a choice because everything looks really taky. Even the little speakers.

But what is a good or decent material that will hold up and look nice with a good finish? I'm don't really care about cost cause it shouldn't cost that much and I don't care if I have to order it. Thanks in advance.

nice_tie36
12-14-2004, 05:02 PM
I looked on google and I found out that paticle board and good plywood work best. But where could I get just speakers that aren't already in an encloser? I looked at parts express but its just crapy brands.

MikeyBC
12-14-2004, 09:28 PM
you may get more help on the DIY board but since i'm here.....MDF (medium density fibreboard) is probably your best choice and finish with a veneer of you prefer.

as for parts try www.madisound.com , they sell seas, scanspeak, vifa and peerless and others. A lot of high end speaker manufacturers use these brands.

Peter Duminy
12-15-2004, 08:51 AM
You can try www.solen.ca (http://www.solen.ca) not only for parts, but also for building materials and techniques. 3/4" MDF, or better still Birch Ply makes an excellent enclosure material. The sky is the limit as to how much you want to spend!

Feanor
12-15-2004, 09:22 AM
I'm going to give it a shot at building my own speakers (#). I've never done it before, but you'll never learn anything new if you ...