Yamaha 795a shutting off [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Yamaha 795a shutting off

brian_tr
12-02-2004, 01:09 AM
I was watching the CMA awards last night and my 795a starting shutting off. First it did it and I turned it back on and it played for about 15 minutes and shut off again. After that it would shut down a few seconds after turning it back on. I was not playing at loud volume. I felt the top of the unit and it was not overly hot. Any ideas on what might be wrong?

kexodusc
12-02-2004, 06:51 AM
I have no idea, my old 795a was doing that for a while and it turns out the power button on my universal remote was being depressed underneath the cushion of the couch...scared the hell out of me.

Check all your speaker wire connections on the back to make sure a small strand isn't touching another wire...hopefully some of the others here can offers some better advice. Good luck.

tlax25
12-02-2004, 07:19 AM
I'm no expert at all, and have never used a Yamaha product. However, a number a years ago I bought the top of the line Sony Theater receiver. After about three weeks of using the receiver, it started to shut-down on me all the time. After much research and talk with so called "audio" experts, I found out that the receiver was not compatible with my speakers. Meaning the receiver ran on a different ohm (if that is the correct term) than my speakers, causing the receiver to shut down. My only option was to replace one or the other. I replaced the receiver. Just something to look at.

Woochifer
12-02-2004, 02:47 PM