Dynaudio S 1.4 causes me to upgrade AV system - advice pls [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Dynaudio S 1.4 causes me to upgrade AV system - advice pls

gileas
11-20-2004, 10:30 AM
Well, I think this is a backward way to go about buying a replacement home audio system, an AV system at that, but here it goes. I got an amazing deal from a friend for a pair of new Dynaudio S 1.4 speakers. Now I am going about trying to assemble an AV system around these speakers. I have decided to buy the center channel reccomended with these speakers, so that is done. What I would like is a reccomendation for a receiver - rotel, marantz, krell, dynalab, creston, burmester, benz micro, stuff in this area. Also - what is your thinking on a pre-amp / power amp setup vs. a receiver which has the surround sound/tuner/amps etc built into it, like the rotel 1056.

Pls feel free to help me, Im a total newbie and need all the advice anyone is willing to give.
Thanks,
Gileas

NickWH
11-20-2004, 01:05 PM
Those are very expensive speakers, I hope you got a good deal. What you are going to find out is, the cost of those speakers will add up fast in the way of the associated equipment you are going to need to get the most out of them. By this I mean, you really have to go the seperates route (not entry-level, either). The only receiver I would imagine pairing those with would be a B&K (which costs almost as much as good seperates). Sure, a Rotel, Arcam, or NAD receiver will power those speakers, but you will not get the kind of refinement and control that is possible with good seperates. Powering five to seven 4 ohm speakers is not usually a design consideration for receivers. With these speakers you really need the brute force of a dedicated amplifier. The speakers may also show the limitations of the built-in preamp used in HT receivers.