Rethink Moving OT Threads (like this one) [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Rethink Moving OT Threads (like this one)

BarryL
11-19-2004, 12:54 PM
Come on, Mr. Terrible.

Given that we have a nice little community of interest here, where many of these folks actually get together as they travel across the country on business and vacations, doesn't it seem heavy handed to intervene in a little bit of off-topic conversation? I've been posting to people on this board for about six years. I know many of them fairly well through years of conversation. I know that this is where I'll find them. What's so wrong about posting something of interest to the community that exists in this space right here, even if it is off-topic? Are other people complaining? Did someone who visits the Film Review section complain that there was a movie posting here? It's just not right that we should have to scatter our community conversations across the different boards when the people we want to talk to are right here. That defeats the purpose of trying to create a community.

How about a little slack here. What's so critical about moving a post about a movie that is aimed at the people on this board to another one? Clearly it was posted here because the person who posted it intended for his friends on this board to read it. Please try not to ruin a good thing here, even if you think you have good intentions.

Or maybe I'm missing something (wouldn't be the first time).

Jim Clark
11-19-2004, 01:55 PM
Gota agree with Barry L here Terrence. I am not interested in venturing over to the films forum but I am interested in what 3lockbox has to say. This little community has taken root largely in part because of posts that are related to things outside of music. We've survived some pretty hamfisted moderating decisions, not that this is necessarily one of them, but we do best when left to our own devices.