Help! Need advice on a center channel. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help! Need advice on a center channel.

JohnBee
11-15-2004, 01:56 PM
I am a college student with a tiny room. When i was living at home I had a 5.1 system and had the room for full size speakers. I am now in a situation where I dont have that freedom anymore but i still want my sound. Anyways, I have 2 small bookshelf speakers that are working out just fine, but my main problem is getting a center channel that fits. I need your advice on purchasing a center. What i really want to do is get just a small bookshelf speaker and use it as a center since that is prolly the only thing that will fit in my tight working area. Do you think a small bookshelf will work ok as a center for my small room situation? I have been looking into the AXIOM M1ti SE. Thanks for your time, any input from you guys would help alot!

Woochifer
11-15-2004, 05:20 PM
Be careful what you ask for when it comes to center speakers. The key with choosing a center speaker is voice matching it to the main speakers. So, the first question in deciding on which center speaker to get is which main speaker you currently use. If a matching center speaker is available, then that is usually the likeliest match for the mains. Go with that model, listen for how well it matches the mains, and stick with it.

If you're choosing the center speaker to match the decor or squeeze it into a tight space, you're just asking for trouble.