Help me to decide on a new equipment :) [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help me to decide on a new equipment :)

paradigm777
11-02-2004, 10:46 PM
Hi all,

I am new at this, currently I have a Sony A/V receiver GA8ES and it has developed some noise/static on the center channel. I am in the market for a integrated amp or A/V receiver (I don't really need a tuner).

I listen to 60% music (95% classical music) 40% movie/video. The room is about 13 x 13. My budget is about $800.00 to $1000.00 and I don't mind getting a used piece.

Thank you all,
Joseph

PAT.P
11-03-2004, 11:30 AM
Hi all,

I am new at this, currently I have a Sony A/V receiver GA8ES and it has developed some noise/static on the center channel. I am in the market for a integrated amp or A/V receiver (I don't really need a tuner).

I listen to 60% music (95% classical music) 40% movie/video. The room is about 13 x 13. My budget is about $800.00 to $1000.00 and I don't mind getting a used piece.

Thank you all,
Joseph
This is a small room ! If you plan to be in this small room a 5.1 would be plenty ! But 6.1 and 7.1 would be alright too .Yamaha have lots the bell and whistle and at this time of year they clear whats remaining in store at reduce price ! The demo could save you lots more .Shop around and save .Pat.P :)

topspeed
11-03-2004, 01:00 PM
You mention you're getting noise out of the center channel which would lead me to belive you have a full surround system, right? If that's the case, I'm unclear how an integrated would help unless you plan on getting one with a theater by-pass so you can listen to music in two channel. Every integrated I've seen is two channel only, which is not to say a multi-channel doesn't exist, simply that I've yet to see one. Of course, this still leaves you with static in your center channel during movies. Bit confused here...