Need some advice please [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice please

jowiii3
10-22-2004, 01:17 PM
I am new to the home theater world so I appreciate any help I get from you guys!

A friend of mine (I think) wants to sell me a brand new set of home speakers new in the box. They are Millenium 2006p speakers 5.1 500 watts. He says they are worth 1700 bucks but only wants 100 dollars for them. My question is does anyone know about these speakers? Is he trying to pass on a bad deal that he may have gotten? He says they were given to him, but of course I am having my doubts as to the price issue, and I cant seem to find a website that gives a definitive answer, to the quality or cost of them.

N. Abstentia
10-22-2004, 01:24 PM
I'm not certain, but I'm thinking 'white van' speakers myself. Indeed sounds like he's trying to pass his bad deal on to you. The first clue is saying they are worth $1700 and selling them for $100. The second clue is that any speaker touting "500 watts!" is more than likely flea market junk.

Again, I'm not positive, but I'd be very skeptical of them. If they are indeed 'white van' models, they are worth maybe $20.

jowiii3
10-22-2004, 01:32 PM
Not sure I understand the "white van" term.
Thanks for your quick reply by the way.

spacedeckman
10-22-2004, 08:37 PM