Connection Help needed. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Connection Help needed.

azbank
12-11-2003, 11:26 AM
Hello all, need your help.

I bought new 5.1 channel DTS DVD player with optical outputs and etc.
I also bought a new XR25 panasonic dts receiver.

What is the best way to connect the dvd to a receiver in terms of surround sound ?

1) I can connect each DTS output on the DVD ( there are 6 outputs including the sub.) to my receiver’s DTS inputs and then from DTS channels on the receiver connect the speakers.

or:

2) Connect DVD ( digital optical audio out ) to the receiver’s optical audio in. Then use receiver’s DTS outputs to connect the speakers.

Please tell me what is the best way to connect the dvd so I can get the best surround sound processing. I appreciate your help, as I am totally new to these things.

Thanks and best regards.

woodman
12-11-2003, 11:58 AM
Hello all, need your help.

I bought new 5.1 channel DTS DVD player with optical outputs and etc.
I also bought a new XR25 panasonic dts receiver.

What is the best way to connect the dvd to a receiver in terms of surround sound ?

1) I can connect each DTS output on the DVD ( there are 6 outputs including the sub.) to my receiver’s DTS inputs and then from DTS channels on the receiver connect the speakers.

or:

2) Connect DVD ( digital optical audio out ) to the receiver’s optical audio in. Then use receiver’s DTS outputs to connect the speakers.

Please tell me what is the best way to connect the dvd so I can get the best surround sound processing. I appreciate your help, as I am totally new to these things.

Thanks and best regards.