Photographing Equipment [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Photographing Equipment

BillB
10-14-2004, 03:55 AM
I'm a complete noob to photography but I've got a decent digital camera now (Nikon CoolPix 5700) and was wondering if anyone here could recommend better ways to photograph equipment in my not-so-well-lit basement home theater?

Thanks,
Bill

Lord_Magnepan
10-14-2004, 04:55 AM
Well i usually turn off the flash and use regular small lightning. Here is a pic of my Pathos in the basement.(before using the vacum cleaner :rolleyes: )

http://www.maggiefanclub.de/pics/pathos.jpg

JSE
10-14-2004, 08:44 AM
The key is to get a nice even light source on your subject. Turn off the flash and try and find some lamps, shop lights, etc. Try and set your light source at a 45 degree angle to your piece of equipment. The best scenerio would be to have 3 lights. Two set in front at 45 degree angles right and left and one behind out of view to get some back light. This will help even the light out. If possible, try and use soft white bulbs. This will help with the color cast a little. You might even check out Home Depot or Lowes for some cheap clip on style lighting. Stay away from flourescent lights. Of course with digital you can correct bad color cast in photoshop.

JSE

Feanor
10-15-2004, 04:23 AM
... and was wondering if anyone here could recommend better ways to photograph equipment in my not-so-well-lit basement home theater?...
I agree with the other posts here: avoid using the built-in flash on your camera. Instead, experiment with some household lighting: floor lamps, desk lamps. Try to raise the height of the light source above the equipment. For extra light, remove the lamp shades. Try to avoiding an overly uniform effect but at the same time, too much light to dark contrast.

Finally, mount you cameria on a tripod (or other supporting surface) and go for an exposure interval that's long enough to capture the shot at the given light level.