Quad 11L or Wharfedale Diaomond 9.1 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Quad 11L or Wharfedale Diaomond 9.1

eaude
10-08-2004, 08:48 AM
Hi- I'm new to the world of Hi-Fi and this is will be be my first real set. [Pardon me if I don't use the right terminology]

My friend sold me his NAD C340 Amp second hand and I'm looking for a pair of speakers to go with it. I've done some web research, gone to the shops and it's now down to Quad 11L or Wharfedale Diamon 9.1. They don't sound alike, although the specs seem similar. Quad11L gives a squeaky clean bell like sound while the Wharfedale seems to be more soothing with better bass. The price diff of approx US$300 to me, is substantial so wondering if the Quad 11L is too good for my simple NAD c340? Or would the money be well spent? I want to avoid paying more, then having to upgrade my amp too soon. My CD player is nothing to shout about (Pioneer DV535K, decent enough right now). I listen to mainly jazz vocals and soft rock-- am big on good melodies with strong rhythms.

So which should I go for? Advice appreciated. Ta

RGA
10-08-2004, 10:48 AM
Speakers are the most importnt thing and I would try not to skimp there. For instance my speakers are way too good for the rest of my system(because I have heard another system connected with my spekers) but the system is passable and the speakers are still the meat of the sytem - add the potatoes and and gravy later.

Nad is more than aceptable with most set-ups.