Out of the Box [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Out of the Box

Deus
09-28-2004, 12:28 PM
I am totally new at Home Theater and lack knowledge. I am seeking to get an out of the box xolution in the next week. All I have now is a DVD player and a 42" Panasonic Plasma. I am looking for an out of the box solution for under $900. Tower speakers would be good. The room has hardwood floors and is around 25' x 40' with high slanted ceilings like in an attic.

Any suggestions?

Deus
09-28-2004, 12:51 PM
Any help much appreciated

Woochifer
09-28-2004, 12:56 PM
Why the rush? A home theater is an investment, and IMO you need to go out there and try stuff out. Listen to speakers, try out the receivers, etc. You're not going to buy a car without driving it, or buy stocks without doing some research about the company.

Rather than buy a home theater in a box, you're better off getting a decent receiver and then taking your time finding a family of speakers to build around. Amost always, the weak link in the HTIB systems is with the speakers. I've yet to listen to one with speakers that produce anywhere near full range performance, and all of them have significant problems in the lower midrange integration with the bass module. With a large room like yours, a HTIB will not work very well. Impatience and the obsessive need for all-in-one convenience drive the HTIB market, not sound quality.