Home Theater Component Match [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Home Theater Component Match

denis4
09-28-2004, 11:25 AM
Hi,

I am a home theater newbie looking to buy a home theater for <$1000. I have read reviews and seem to like the Fluance SX-HTB speakers ($260, or $375 with shipping and cables/banana plugs at www.fluance.com). I have also looked at H/K 630 receiver, and new Marantz 5500 receiver. I am also interested in decent stereo music experience. I would also like to get a DVD player that could play DVD+R/+RW as I have a DVD writer in that format. Here are my questions:

1. Are these receivers a match for these speakers or they are an overkill? Any suggestion on alternative would be appreciated.
2. Any suggesttions on the DVD player? I have looked at some Sony models that seem good with multiple DVD formats, but i have also read somewhere that all SOny models have an 'over-sampling' bug. I could use a DVD/VCR combo (like Sony SLV-D550P) as well, as my VCR has recently broken but I wouldn't like to sacrifice other features just to get a combo.
3. Any special consideration in selecting a receiver for later connection to my computer to play MP3 files from there?

N. Abstentia
09-28-2004, 12:12 PM
You say you seem to like Fluance speakers, when you listened to them what exactly did you like about? What kind of sound character did they have that you liked?

denis4
09-28-2004, 12:26 PM
I did not listen to them. What I meant is that I liked the reviews about them, especially the value they offer for the money.

Woochifer
09-28-2004, 12:38 PM
BIG MISTAKE buying speakers based just on reviews! Have you actually gone out and done some listening and comparing with speakers? That would be the first thing you need to do before you commit to anything. Fluance always gets a lot of inquiries because it offers an inexpensive five speaker package. But, I have yet to read anything from anyone on this board who's actually heard them.