arrow on cable [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : arrow on cable

iceblue8
12-09-2003, 05:56 PM
Hello,

This might be a stupid question for some of you, but I'm a newbie for high end cable and I've just purcahased a LAT speaker cable. Both ends are terminated with bananas, but there is an arrow on the cable. So which end goes to the amp and which to the speaker? Please help. Thanks.

markw
12-09-2003, 09:34 PM
Electrons flow faster downhill so... aw, who am I kidding?

The signal is alernating current, not DC. I cannot fathom what these would mean on speaker cables but on shielded interconnects, they might make a slight difference in noise surpression. Some interconnects have a "lifted ground" on one side of the interconnect. This means that only one side of the cable is grounded. On these cables, the arrow would point to the grounded side.

Again, for speaker cables??? No idea. Perhaps some people need these to feel better about their purchase buy having instructions to follow.

FLZapped
12-10-2003, 08:50 AM
Electrons flow faster downhill so... aw, who am I kidding?

Again, for speaker cables??? No idea. Perhaps some people need these to feel better about their purchase buy having instructions to follow.

Maybe they're just trying to make it really simple....otherwise, I dunno either.

-Bruce

Bill L
12-11-2003, 12:03 PM
I'm a firm believer that wire can have a noticible audible impact. But the explanation I got from a dealer on the arrow thing was that the way the wire is manufactured (extruded, drawn, whatever) somehow biases the metal/insulation. This bias then requires the wire to be attached with the arrows pointing the same way - either towards or away from your speaker. Sounds bogus to me. Couldn't hear any diff in my system (yes I tried it). Interconnects are a different story. The shield may be attached at one end only and be affected by grounding to one component or the other.

Swerd
12-11-2003, 01:30 PM