Surge Protectors Do I Need A New One for HDTV? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Surge Protectors Do I Need A New One for HDTV?

hershon
09-20-2004, 09:02 AM
I've been using for the last 4 years or so a surge protector called Isotel 6 that I've plugged in my home theater system, big screen TV & 2 VCR's into with no problem. The plug slots are all generic/not specific, meanng anything can be plugged into any slot. The protector I think cost me about $50 or so. Now that I've bought a new big screen HDTV, would you recommend I buy a new surge protector such as the one the store recommended, a Monster Surge Protector, that says specifically what plug is supposed to go to where (i.e. DVD player, HDTV, VCR, etc.) & has 8 slots as opposed to the 6 my protector had, or is this a waste of money (getting a new protector that's specific) & I should save money and stick to what I have?

Smokey
09-20-2004, 02:30 PM
Now that I've bought a new big screen HDTV, would you recommend I buy a new surge protector such as the one the store recommended, a Monster Surge Protector?

Really, a red light should go off as to why large chain stores such as BB or CC always try to shove Monster products down the consumer's throat any time buying a piece of A/V equipments. So the question as to why they push Monster products so hard is because Monster have quality products, or is it because profit margin is great for both chain store and Monster Co. The way they conduct their business, looks like it is the latter.

After saying that and to put your mind at ease, ConsumerReport did evaluation of Surge protectors back in 2000/2001 and Isobar Surge protector (which you currently use) top the chart and beat out its competitors.

So it is a good assumption that Isobar is better than Monster :)

hershon
09-20-2004, 04:02 PM