Large Or Small [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Large Or Small

VRDUB
08-22-2004, 07:34 AM
Hi all :) noob here! So excuse me if any of this sounds really basic.

I have the Denon 2805 reciever and I'm running Paradigm Mon. 7's for the mains. Now my ? is during the auto-setup on the reciever what should I set the cross-over at? I keep hearing that even though the speaker is a full range speaker, that setting the speaker to small and having the sub do all the heavy work is the best bet.

In the Paradigm catalog it say the Mon. 7's V.3's low-frequency extension is 33 Hz. (DIN)*
Which I think puts it in the "Large" category.

Also, what should I set the Crossover and the Volume Level (on the sub) at, before auto-setup?

Thanx!!!!!!!!

This Guy
08-22-2004, 07:42 AM
If you're crossing it over to the sub through the receiver (subwoofer output), set the crossover on the sub all the way up. Set the speakers as small and try a crossover of around 60 hz. You want the sub about 3-6 dB louder than the rest of your speakers. Go to radio shack and get their spl meter. Make sure all the channels are the same loudness at your listening position and set the subwoofer 3-6 dB louder, whichever you like more. Also, play around with the sub crossover (in the receiver), and phase switch/dial to whatever sounds best.

VRDUB
08-22-2004, 08:13 AM
By setting the crossover on the sub all the way up, do you mean 150Hz? The sub's Cut-Off Frequency is 50Hz -150Hz.? Also what is Phase Switch/Dial?

Thanks for the quick reply Dude!

This Guy
08-22-2004, 08:25 AM