RPTVs? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : RPTVs?

Max Power
08-13-2004, 07:39 AM
Well I'm new to this whole scene. I have a 27 inch GE surved tube tv. Awesome right? So in MA we are having a tax-free day due to the disaster we called the Democratic National Convention. The bottom line is I work for a local appliance store on weekends for extra cash and I can buy TVs for cheaper than average prices with no tax. My cash flow is however limited at around 2000$. Here's what has impressed me so far.

1 Mitsubishi WS-48513
2 Toshiba 46H84

Does anyone know much about reliabilty of these brands/sets? Are there any others I should be looking at. By the way my viewing distance will be less than or equal to 9.5 feet.

Thanks in advance for any help.

sy_lu
08-13-2004, 04:31 PM
For CRT based RPTV, I like the Mitsubishi better. Without attempting to do any degree of serious comparison, I do feel my Mitsibishi has better picture in terms of details and color than my friend's Toshiba. My tv is about 2 yr old now. So far so good. Before the Mitsubishi, I had a Pioneer (none HD of course) and that lasted about 7 years.

pwh03
08-13-2004, 05:18 PM
I;ve been doing a lot of research lately and those two brands are both great, decide based on your needs and t he picture you see. Make sure you play with the settings though.

Just to let you know what I have read has led me to belive that

mitsubishi, toshiba, and hitachi make the best sets.

Good luck have fun

Ph

hifimaster
08-16-2004, 08:31 AM
"Make sure you play with the settings though."

Include a A/V calibration disc (Digital Video Essentials, Avia, Sound and Vision, etc.) in your budget. The days are gone when we used to adjust our picture settings until it "looks good".