Tips on Building an HT speaker system [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Tips on Building an HT speaker system

cadolfan
12-06-2003, 06:24 AM
Can someone help and direct me on the best way to build a HT speaker system.

It seems that the first place to start would be a good set of front speakers. Is this correct? Do they necessarily need to be placed in front of you? I wanted to place them on the sides of my sofa. Is that okay?

Whats the next speaker that I should get? Surround?

joel2762
12-06-2003, 09:11 AM
Well in a basic 5.1 setup There's FRONT Right and Left. REAR Right and LEft. and FRONT Center. usually placed on top or below the tv. No puting front speakers next to sofas.

cadolfan
12-07-2003, 12:44 AM
Thanks,
I just picked up a a harman kardon AVR325. I'm new at this I think it is 7.1 or has 7 channels. Does that mean I can have 2 front, 2back, 1 center, 1 surround, and 1 sub contected?

This Guy
12-07-2003, 10:49 AM
you have front left and right, center, surround left and right, back surrround left and right, and a subwoofer (.1)

-Joey

cadolfan
12-07-2003, 08:48 PM
you have front left and right, center, surround left and right, back surrround left and right, and a subwoofer (.1)

-Joey

what's the difference between surround left and right and back surround left and right? will two floor main speakers give me surround sound?

Bryan
12-08-2003, 07:54 AM
Easiest way to think of surround left and right is to think of them as side left and right. Back surround left and right are your rear channels. If you only have two speakers now in your setup make them the main left and right speakers. If you have two additional speakers, be them bookshelf or floorstanders, make them the rear surround speakers. With a total of four speakers you can have surround sound but not with only two. An example of a 7.1 setup using what I have would be:

nOrh (http://www.norh.com) wood 5.1 - Left and right main speakers