GOIRISH
12-06-2003, 06:15 AM
I am new to Audio/Video and new on this board. Recently I bought:
Yamaha RXV2400 Receiver
B&W 604s S3
B&W LCR600 S3
B&W ASW675 SUB
Mirage OMNI 250s for the rears

Being a novice I have another question. I have a Toshiba SD2800 DVD Player (lost the owners manual) I have it hooked up to the Analog L&R and yellow video jack. The front of the DVD player says it is DTS and Dolby Digital. When I try to select DTS on the EAGLES HELL FREEZES OVER DVD, no sound plays, but when I select PCM from the Eagles DVD, music plays. On the back of the Toshiba it has an OPTICAL jack which reads Bitstream/PCM???????? Do I need to use the Optical jack in order for DTS and Dolby Digital to work? Thanks for the help.....Paul

kelsci
12-06-2003, 09:47 AM
Goirish; you mention a connection to the YELLOW VIDEO JACK. That ususally means that output is for a connection to a monitor with a video composite input. That would not be the jack to obtain digitial audio through your receiver. Are you saying that the 2800 has an optical output on its chassis. I do not recall Toshiba products having optical outputs, but I can't keep track of the model numbers that might have made a change. It is possible you have two digital audio outputs on this player; optical and coaxial. If you want to use 75 ohm audio cable, it must be plugged into the COAXIAL output on the 2800 and a coaxial audio input on the Yamaha. If you also have an optical output on that player, that would go into an optical input on the Yamaha. To be sure that you will always able to play DTS, the menu in the 2800 should be set to something indicating DTS playback or what is generally set is BITSTREAM.

GOIRISH
12-06-2003, 11:17 AM
kelsci; THANK YOU it worked!!!! I used the coax output. Is there any bonus using the Optical output instead of the coax?.....Paul

GaToy
12-06-2003, 01:59 PM