Wood cone speakers. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Wood cone speakers.

topspeed
08-06-2004, 02:21 PM
TAS reports that JVC is set to release speakers with, get this...wood cone speakers. Wood? WOOD! Hey, I'll be the first to admit that I'm not an engineer but doesn't wood have properties that aren't conducive to use as a speaker? Doesn't wood shrink and swell? Doesn't wood rot? Chip? Flex? Break? Stain? Seriously, this just smacks of marketing over common sense.

Who knows, maybe I'm wrong? Any engineers wanna relay how wood could actually be beneficial?

BTW, they soak the wood in Sake to keep it from becoming brittle. No, I'm not making this up.

This Guy
08-06-2004, 02:36 PM
Yeah I heard that. Vifa, a very popular and good speaker driver company actually had a wood coned speaker out for a few years. It doesn't seem to popular to speaker builders, basically because of its price. The response isn't bad, but you can get a similar, more sensitive speaker for about 50% of its cost. http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=297-370

-Joey

Woochifer
08-06-2004, 03:02 PM
I've heard of speakers made out of wood pulp (and by logical extension, paper is also made from wood pulp), but not something carved out of a solid block of wood. I guess it would make sense if the wood is thin and light enough and retains enough stiffness. (If you look at balsa shavings, they're not too different from paper in how pliable and lightweight they are; and paper drivers are often reinforced with stuff like epoxy to make them stiffer) That would be an interesting experiment. Something tells me that it won't be all that different from paper drivers since I doubt that they'll use something solid enough to double as a salad bowl!

matt39
08-06-2004, 03:58 PM
Hey Topspeed,