first system-what to buy? (a newbee in need is a newbee indeed) [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : first system-what to buy? (a newbee in need is a newbee indeed)

newbie justin
08-06-2004, 06:58 AM
Hi, I'm a complete beginner to hifi systems and was wondering if anybody could offer any advice on a decent first system.

I've read quite a few reviews on the net and I was thinking of getting the
NAD c350 bee amplifier.
--------------------------------------------
According to the Nad website Its feature list includes:

60W x 2 Continuous Power (8 ohms)
135W, 190W, 240W Dynamic Power into 8, 4 and 2 ohms respectively
Impedance Sensing Circuit (ISC) topology
Soft Clipping
Full System Remote control including Stand-by/Off
12 volt trigger output
Relay Input Switching
Toroidal Power transformer
7 Line inputs, including two tape in/outs
All Discrete circuitry
Short signal path from input to output
All sockets Gold plated
Main-amp input & 2 pre-amp outputs
Tone controls defeat switch
Headphones socket
NAD Link
------------------------------------------------------------------------

and as for speakers getting two Acoustic Energy Aegis Evo Ones

----------------------------------
100 Watt max
frequency response +_ 6dB. 38Hz-22kHz
Sensitivity 89dB/W
Impedance 8 Ohm
----------------------------------

Unfortunately I don't really have much clue what all of the specifications mean, but both the AE speakers and the NAD amplifier have recieved good reviews. Does anybody know if they would be compatible with each other?

I plan to hook the amp up to my computer and use it to play mp3s/cds via the computer, and probably hook it up to the television/playstation as well.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your time!

This Guy
08-06-2004, 07:37 AM