newbie appreciating help [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : newbie appreciating help

brinne19
07-29-2004, 07:31 PM
Dear forum,
I am new to the home audio enviroment, although i am familiar with the car audio enviroment. I am currently looking for speakers and have been searching this forum for the past few days trying to get ideas. I auditioned some B&W's today at a local sound shop and havent ever heard anything like those before. My current problem is budget I cant justify spending more than $600 on a set of speakers. I am not looking for 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 ect as they will mostly be used for music listening. I was leaning towards tower speakers because i wouldnt need a subwoofer but am willing and open to all suggestions. I would love high quality but am constrained by budget. on a side note these speakers will prob be getting a lot of use with the people i am living with. Thank you for any help you can provide and i think you all have a really amazing forum.

jasmit
07-29-2004, 09:04 PM
If you like the B&W sound, you might be able to get the DM602.5 series 3 floorstanders for around $630/pr; that's MSRP of $700 minus a not-unheard-of 10% discount from an authorized dealer.

There are alot of folks who believe that some of the better audio bargains are found at Internet only companies. Just based on some of the things I've read on audio forums about the following speakers, you might want to look into them as well: Axiom Audio M50ti ($620/pr.) and Rocket RS 550 by Onix ($599/pr. B-stock).

http://www.axiomaudio.com/m50ti.html

http://www.av123.com/products_product.php?section=stock&product=14.1

Most of the audio companies that sell from Internet sites have liberal 30-day no questions asked return policies which allow you to audition them in your home.

You can also find some serious bargains on gently used speakers at Audiogon and Videogon, but shipping costs for heavy towers can add up.