Best entry-level speker for listening to music [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Best entry-level speker for listening to music

crones
12-04-2003, 01:49 PM
I recently purchase a Yamaha HTR-5550 receiver and would like to get a new set of speakers (max. $300 for pair), mainly for listening to music. Eventually I would like to add additional speakers to achieve a surround sound effect. I'm new to this - so any help would be appreicated.

markw
12-04-2003, 02:23 PM
I'll throw the Athena Audition series of speakers into the ring for your consideration. Check 'em out at http://www.audioadvisor.com if you wish.

I have 'em and before settling on these compared them with the common brands in their price range. They did the trick for me.

Woochifer
12-04-2003, 02:47 PM
Depends on how you intend to use those speakers. Right at the $300 price point, my choice would be the B&W DM303. Very well balanced and versatile set of speakers. And if you expand into surround sound, it should be well matched with the 600 series models if you decide to upgrade to that series for the front speakers and move the 303s into the back for surround duty. Or you can simply add three more of the 303s plus a subwoofer and have a timbre matched 5.1 setup all the way around.

At the $350 price point, you can also look into the Paradigm Mini Monitor. It has a more aggressive sound than the 303s, especially in the highs and lows, but still conveys good accuracy in the crucial midrange. It's really a matter of personal preference. If you music tastes are almost exclusively with amplified instruments or hip-hop, this would probably be more to your liking than the more subdued B&Ws, which are better suited to acoustic instruments than the Minis. Paradigm also makes the $180 Titans, which are less refined but one of the better speakers at that price point.