LFE cable / Digital coax questions... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : LFE cable / Digital coax questions...

douglasbjordan
07-12-2004, 01:32 PM
I need a 20 ft digital coax cable and a 30 ft LFE subwoofer cable. My first question is: what on earth is a subwoofer LFE cable? Is that the same as a digital coax cable? (They look like that have the same RCA connector...) Some companies market them as different cables, so I wasn't sure.

The real question, though: any recommendations on these two cables? I'm not looking for anything super fancy... just something long enough that'll do the job adequately. =) At the local shops the longest they carry was 4 meters. =(

I'm currently using two lengths of really cheap speaker wire with a coupler in lieu of the 20 ft digital coax cable. It works but I'd like to avoid the couplers (those are bad, right? sorry I'm kinda new to all this cabling stuff...) and thought I might as well get something a little nicer than cheap speaker wire if I'm going to buy a new cable anyway.

Thanks for any help.

mtrycraft
07-12-2004, 09:22 PM
I need a 20 ft digital coax cable

Try Radio Shack and ask for a RG6 type cable, same used for cable TV.

and a 30 ft LFE subwoofer cable. My first question is: what on earth is a subwoofer LFE cable? Is that the same as a digital coax cable? (They look like that have the same RCA connector...) Some companies market them as different cables, so I wasn't sure.

A sub cable is nothing more than an interconnect cable similar to the RCA analog cable but with the new and improved, more expensive words on it. Same cable, pay for the words on it.
Digital coax cable will do the job just as well but that cable is slightly different. A digital audio cable is the same as a video cable. So, that RG6 type can be used in all those applications :)

The real question, though: any recommendations on these two cables?

Radio Shack, www.partsexpress.com, Target, WalMart, local electronics parts store.