Floorstanding Speaker Recommendations [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Floorstanding Speaker Recommendations

classicalfreak
07-12-2004, 10:17 AM
Nice to meet everyone. I have an old pair of Celestion DL8s that I'd like to augment/replace...while I'm no audiophile, I do like flat response speakers, no heavy bass coloration. I can't really afford to spend more than 500 per pair, which I understand isn't very much money at all. I'd like some model recommendations where I could begin my search...I've been out of this game for so long, I really don't know who still manufactures quality speakers. I'm open to the bookshelf/satellite option should anyone have an exception recommendation to offer. Thanks to all in advance.

musicguy04
07-12-2004, 11:37 AM
I thought the B&W 603 sounded really good, but then again, I'm just new to this myself. The 602 bookshelf might be nice.

This Guy
07-12-2004, 03:12 PM
are you gonna use a sub with these?

classicalfreak
07-13-2004, 06:13 AM
I didn't plan on using a subwoofer...I think this is why I thought a floor standing option would be preferable.

Bryan
07-13-2004, 07:56 AM
With a budget of $500 you will want to look around the used speaker market, such as Audiogon (http://www.audiogon.com). The Swan 4.1 (http://www.theaudioinsider.com/cgi-bin/theaudioinsider/SW4.1BC.html) may work but check with them (sales@theaudioinsider.com - believe it is Jon Lane) to be sure.

RGA
07-13-2004, 12:53 PM
Well if you must have floorstanding speakers frankly I would keep what you own given your budget constraints. Older does not mean worse and newer most likely means cheaper cabinets.