Marchand Components - 1st impressions. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Marchand Components - 1st impressions.

piece-it pete
12-03-2003, 10:19 AM
Or, how to assemble an active crossover with a pair of wirecutters & an old pocket knife in less than an hour.

I received my components yesterday - woo-hoo!

2 ea XM1 active crossovers @ 80 hz 24 db both ways, all outputs in phase, and a PS10 power supply.

For starters, I received excellent personal attention directly from the owner, Phil Marchand himself.

Pricing was reasonable. Total cost, including frt. & a 10% discount as an Audiogon member, was $111.00. You may find a used middling quality pro active crossover for this, but a) they're big & ugly and b) read on for quality concerns.

They shipped UPS within a week, well packaged.

When I pulled the 1st crossover out of the box the craftsman in me smiled. Small, 2"x 3", and very nicely done. I'm no electronics expert, but I have taken the cover off many a component, and have rarely seen any guts that look this good. I can't imagine that a run-of-the-mill pro crossover meets this build quality.

Ditto for the power supply.

Being impatient, I rushed home, got sidetracked by the SO decorating the living room for Chrismas (how do you get out of that:), and FINALLY got to my pieces-parts about 9:30. Well I'm sure not going to build a proper base for it tonight, but I'll be darned if I'm not going to hear it!!!

So, I set the box it came in on it's side, laid out the bits, used a pocket knife to punch a couple holes in the box, and garbage-bag tied them down :).

Since there's no soldering (all the connections on the units are screw down) I just cut up some crappy patchcords and an old powercord I had lieing around, used a little 18ga speaker wire for internal power supplies (15 volt), and Wala! instant crossover!! Not that I'd show this at any fashion show lol!