Speaker help!!!! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Speaker help!!!!

Jayjutsu
06-25-2004, 09:02 PM
Hey I'm a newbie just trying to start building a home entertainment system.

I just purchased a yamaha 6.1 htr-5750 and now I need to buy speakers. I can get a really good deal on Wharfedale Zaldek Series but I have never heard any of there speakers before. the ones I"m looking at are the Zaldek 2000, 1000, and 600 and then Zaldek surrounds and center. I can also get a good deal on athena towers too... Does anyone know anything about either brand and which would give me the best sound for music and movies.

I listen to pretty much everything.

Thanks

chimera128
06-25-2004, 09:24 PM
Listen to both set of speakers before you decide which to buy. People can give you lots of opinions on whether or not they like those speakers, but is ultimately decided by your own ears.

AZHT
06-25-2004, 11:22 PM
Jayjutsu, sounds like you work at a best buy. Here's some Wharfdale info: http://www.iagamerica.com/wharfedale/zaldek.htm I'd look at the Klipsch speakers they carry too. Very efficient, good for rock music and movies. Also, use the Yamaha's YPAO feature once you get all your speakers.

Jayjutsu
06-26-2004, 07:18 AM
Your correct I work at bestbuy and that is my problem we don't carry wharfedale speakers so I have no way to hear them and campare. But the deal we get on them its really good. Thus my problem.

Should I just go for the wharfedales or it is it better to buy something that I can hear first.

markw
06-26-2004, 10:02 AM
If you work at best buy, you should check out the Athena series.

Jayjutsu
06-26-2004, 11:05 AM
Yea the atheana's where my other choice. Just didn't know if the wharfedale's would be a better deal. I can get there Zaldek 2000 cheaper than the atheana's.

RGA
06-26-2004, 11:22 AM
My only concern is that they have spring clip connectors and won't take bannana wiring.

I can't understand that but it's cheap to have changed.