5.1 Speakers (sats and sub) for 300-400 US [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : 5.1 Speakers (sats and sub) for 300-400 US

user name
06-22-2004, 01:28 AM
I am thinking about getting an HK AVR 130 or equivalent (see my other thread), sats and a sub, however due to price restrictions (600 US, I'm a student) and my overly sensitive ears, I'm having a hard time finding anything that fits my requirements. I know sats and audiophiles usually don't get along too well. However, given the dimensions of the space the system will probably be used in (12 by 12 with lots of furniture) anything else, well, simply won't fit...literally. Now, obviously I've crossed out Bose and HT in a box manufactures, along with Athena, Polk, and many others (either because they're way too expensive or aren't actually meant to produce nice sound). The only systems I've seen that perhaps, but probably won't work (which I stress) are the Infinity TSS-450, new HK budget surround sound systems, and HUS Ventriloquist. I really want surround sound, but its starting to seem impossible. Are any of these systems worth further investigation or is there a better option I haven't come up with? Obviously I'm new to this, but I have a very sensitive ear, and need to please it.

markw
06-22-2004, 02:20 AM
They are all worth investigation. Assuming, of course, that that investigation involves listening itself. Without that, it's all just comparing numbers on paper or tabulating votes of others opinions, which may or may not match yours. Those Athena and Polk systems you dismiss are well liked by others.

"Good" sound is as personal and subjective as it gets. Particularly when one has a sensitive ear.

user name
06-22-2004, 02:32 AM
Well, I eliminated those in particular because they're too expensive for me.

markw
06-22-2004, 03:15 AM