Anyone here own a HKSUB 12 or JBL PB12 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here own a HKSUB 12 or JBL PB12

bullion
12-01-2003, 04:09 PM
Does anyone here own or know anyone that owns a Harman Kardan HKSUB 12 or a JBL PB10 or PB12? I am looking to get a sub soon and don't want to spend a ton but I want something that will compliment my system (Yamaha HTR-5560 reciever and JBL ND310 II main speakers)

spacedeckman
12-01-2003, 06:56 PM
I've no experience with the h/k, but the JBL is pretty iffy. If you could find an Athena P400 (BestBuy.com has them, but check for local retailer) I think that is $400. Really nice for money, not muddy.

Just play some music. If the woofer only seems to play one note well, then go on to the next one. Unfortunately, you will pass up a lot of famous name, really bad subs. Fortunately, when you find a sub this way, it's a much better sub.

Space

bullion
12-02-2003, 10:28 AM
What about the HKSUB 12

This Guy
12-02-2003, 04:05 PM
If you buy a $200 subwoofer, when calibrated right, it will probably hold back your main speakers. It won't seem like your main speakers are that loud, but the sub is distorting and mainly holding back your speakers from going any louder. This is what happened to me when I bought $150 no name sub. I sold that"sub" in 3 months. I say just keep your main speakers as Large and get another $200. it shouldn't be that hard, and you'll be surprised how much more performance you could get out of the HSU VTF-2 or the Adire Rava. You'll most likely end up wasting your money buying a "sub" at this price. If you absolutely cannot spend anymore, this is the Only sub i would go with in this price range.

http://www.dealtime.com/xKW-Bic_America_V-1215_Home_Theater_Speakers_and_Subwoofers/NS-1/linkin_id-3007143/GS.html

BIC makes decent stuff for cheap. This still won't give you nearly as good performance as the two subs I listed, this is only if you CANNOT spend a penny more.

-Joey

bullion